Biomass Boiler Installation Regulations

In the case of biomass boiler installations, most households do not require planning permissions to carry out small additions or extensions as it falls under ‘permitted development’. Planning permission is not necessary for internal components of the system, and for external flue onto house/block/flats. It is normally permitted development, provided that the following conditions are met:

·  Flues are less than 1m above the highest part of the roof (This excludes any existing chimneys).

·  In a World Heritage Site or a conservation area, the flue must not be fitted on a roof slope or wall on the front of a highway. It is advisable to seek permission from the relevant planning authority in case a building is listed or is in a conservation area.

· Fuel storage also needs to be considered and additional space may be required to store the biomass fuel.

· Buildings such as garden sheds are usually covered by permitted development rights. However, you should still check if planning permission is necessary before commencing the new external fuel store work.

Building Regulations could be applicable if you wish to install a flue or a new heating appliance. Many of the building regulations relating to the installation are derived from solid fuel heating systems. The building regulations enumerate the requirements for the installation of solid fuel systems which include room ventilation, fireproof hearth, and flue characteristics. However, the regulations were originally devised for smokeless & coal fuel systems and as a result may be imperfectly suited for modern biomass systems. This may give way to difficulties hence proper guidance is necessary.

Get in touch with us for more information and if you have any questions.
Whilst our Head Office is based in Portsmouth, we survey and install in - Berkshire, Breconshire, Cheshire, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, East Sussex, West Sussex, Essex, Glamorgan, Hampshire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Middlesex, Monmouthshire, North Wales, Somerset, Surrey, Worcestershire, St Albans, Bournemouth, Brighton, Bromley, Cardiff, Chester, Chelmsford, Croydon, Crewe, Dartford, Enfield, Exeter, Gloucester, Guildford, Harrow, Hemel Hempstead, Hereford, Ilford, Kingston upon Thames, Llandrindod, Llandudno, Newport, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Reading, Redhill, Romford, Southampton, Salisbury, SW London, Taunton, Tunbridge Wells, Torquay, Truro, Southall, Warrington, Watford and Worcester.